Services

The library supports the university's activities by providing information services, teaching information literacy, and liaising with researchers.

Borrowing and library rules

Access and library card

The University of the Arts Helsinki library is open to all. To register as a library user, a person must be at least 15 years of age and have a Finnish social security ID and an address in Finland. Exceptions are the university’s exchange students, lecturers and researchers who can register as library users without meeting these conditions. Library users under 15 must be accompanied by a legal guardian when registering with the library. In addition, Finnish and foreign organisations that offer inter-library loans can register as inter-library service customers. Access to the library can also be granted for a specified term. 

Registration requires a photo ID issued by an official authority. You can fill out the library card application online or on paper at the library service desk.

The library card permits you to borrow material from all libraries. The library card is free of charge; there is a fee for a replacement card (see the price list). Cardholders agree to comply with the rules of the University of the Arts Helsinki library. 

Library cards

Customer register and privacy

Customer information is stored in the library’s customer register (data protection statement). The information held in the customer register will not be disclosed to third parties with the exception of recovery of loans that have not been returned to the library. In accordance with the Finnish Personal Data Files Act, everyone has the right to check their details in the register. 

The details are valid for three years from the last date they have been checked after which the details expire and the use of library services will be restrained. If the expired details are not updated they will remain in the register for three years from the expiration date. 

Borrow, renew, reserve

Users can borrow materials from the library of the University of the Arts Helsinki. Not all collections are available for loan. The loan periods vary by collection. The personal library card must be presented when checking out materials, making reservations and for checking borrowing rights and existing loans. The card must not be given to another person.

Loans from the library collections are free as long as the materials are returned or renewed by the return date. A library user can have up to 100 items checked out at any time.

Items borrowed from the University’s academy libraries in Helsinki can be returned to all Uniarts libraries in Helsinki. Currently, items borrowed from the Sibelius Academy’s Kuopio library can only be returned in Kuopio.

Loan periods

The loan periods vary by collection andlibrary units. You can find item level loan periods in Arsca at the Holdings information. 

By default, you can borrow:  

  • Books, plays, scores: 28 days 
  • Course material, journals, CD-records: 14 days  
  • Theses at the short loan collection in Sibelius Academy library: 14 days 
  • DVDs at Academy of Arts and Theatre Academy library: 14 days 

 By default, you cannot borrow  

  • Theses, handbooks and dictionaries, latest issues of journals
  • Sibelius Academy library’s journals, DVDs and archive materials   

Materials that you can’t borrow, you can use in the library. It’s also possible to make copies (fees apply), listen to records and watch DVDs.

Loan renewals

A loan can be renewed up to 10 times. There may be academy-specific exceptions with regard to special collections. Loans can be renewed in Arsca, by visiting the library, or on the phone. A loan does not have to be brought to the library for renewal. If the title is reserved, or if the customer has 20€ or more overdue fees, a loan cannot be renewed. Loans can’t be renewed by email.

Reservations

Library users can submit reservations in the library or online in Arsca. Items currently on loan cannot be reserved via email or phone. Materials provided by the University’s academy libraries can also be reserved for collection in another University library in Helsinki. Materials provided by the Sibelius Academy’s Kuopio library can be reserved for collection in Kuopio. When the loaned copy is available, the library system automatically notifies the user who made the reservation. The title will be reserved and held for the user until the date specified in the message. Reservations made online by the user are free of charge. Reservations made by the library staff are charged according to the service fees.

Reserving materials is not possible if: 

  • you already have the item on loan 
  • you already have a reservation to the item 
  • your library card is temporarily blocked 
  • your customer information is expired 

Overdue fees

If a loan is not returned or renewed by the due date, the library user will be charged the late return fee specified in the price list. The late fee will be charged even if the library user has not received a reminder from the library, or if they have not been able to renew the loan, for example, because of a technical fault. 

Reminders and loan ban

  • Customers who have given their email address to the library are sent a reminder at least 24 hours before the due date. 
  • The delay reminder is sent one day after the loan expiry date. 
  • The Academy of Fine Arts library sends a returning request one week after the first delay reminder. 

A user loses the right to borrow, renew and reserve materials if 

  • the loan period has expired and, despite the reminder, the item is not returned within 40 days of the due date 
  • The delay payment total is €20 or more. 

Borrowing privileges are restored when borrowed items are returned or compensated. 

Interlibrary loan service

The library of the University of the Arts Helsinki can order interlibrary loans from other libraries for the students and staff members of the University of the Arts Helsinki only. The library of the University of the Arts Helsinki provides interlibrary loans to other libraries and organisations offering interlibrary loans outside the Helsinki metropolitan area. The availability of collections for interlibrary loan and the associated charges may vary by academy.

User’s resposibilities

Users are responsible for their borrowed items, including returning or renewing their loans by the return date. . Lost or damaged library materials must be replaced. The replacement procedure is determined by the academy in question. 

Library users are responsible for keeping their contact information up to date. The library will send any correspondence (return requests, reminders, etc.) to the address given by the user. Users can update their contact information online.

Library users are responsible for the use of their library cards. The library card is a personal document. Lost cards must be reported to the library immediately. The cardholder is responsible for all materials borrowed on their card. 

The library’s property must be handled with due care and consideration. Library users are liable for damages to library property. Marking the library materials in any way is strictly prohibited. 

When receiving the library card, the user signs and agrees to the general rules and prices of services of the University of the Arts Helsinki library. 

Use of electronic materials

Electronic materials (e-books, e-journals, etc.) acquired by the University of the Arts Helsinki library are available for all library users on the library’s customer workstations. In addition, electronic materials can be accessed remotely by university students and staff members. The use of electronic materials in the library collection is subject to the agreements concluded with the producer/vendor of the material. Further information is available from the library.

Use of customer workstations

The library’s customer workstations are primarily intended for the use of library services, studying and research purposes.  

General rules

Disruptive behaviour within the library is not permitted. If a mobile phone is used, other customers must not be disturbed. The library is not responsible for customers’ personal belongings.

Disrupting the library’s operation or disturbing the library staff or other customers can lead to a ban from the library. Decisions on restricting or banning access are made by the library management.

The decision can be appealed within 14 days of being notified of it; the contact information for appeals is included in the decision or other documents enclosed with the letter. The decision can take effect even if it has been appealed.

The management of the University of the Arts Helsinki library reserves the right to modify the library rules and service charges as necessary. The rules and current service prices can be viewed at the library branches and on their websites.

Validity

These rules are valid as of 11 March 2020.

Information services and teaching

The library offers information search and information literacy teaching for their students and staff. In addition to study-related teaching, individual instruction is also available and can be booked from the information specialists. 

The library staff provides customer guidance for using the library and searching for material. Detailed questions concerning information retrieval can be discussed in a private information specialist meeting. Contact by email: lib@uniarts.fi, in Kuopio lib.sibk@uniarts.fi

Services for researchers

The library supports researchers throughout multiple stages of the research process at all stages of their careers. We guide, educate and advice in information retrieval, in describing and opening research data, and in issues relating to the visibility of the research and researcher. Uniarts Helsinki urges for openness in all stages of the research process, and the library strives to enable the practices of Open Science through the services it provides. 

Support and information is available from the library in many different forms, from training and information clinics to personal advice and online guides. You can contact us via e-mail at lib.research@uniarts.fi

Information services

To post-docs and researchers, the library offers guidance on how to locate scientific sources in their field, training in learning information retrieval skills, information literacy and source criticism, skills to write literature reviews, and advice on reference management. More information is available in the information retrieval guide

Research Data Management

The library helps you with creating data management plans and controlling and describing research data. Support is also available in using the data management planning tool DMPTuuli and issues relating to anonymization, opening and long-term archiving of research data. More information is available in the research data guide

ORCID iD

ORCID iD is an open, transparent and non-proprietary ID, which can be used in various services and systems. A researcher can easily and quickly register for this personal, persistent identifier and a profile page at orcid.org. Uniarts Helsinki is an organization member of ORCID, and the library assists researchers in using ORCID iD. See more information at the library’s ORCID guide page.

Publication data and Open Access

Uniarts Helsinki researchers submit their publication data to the research information system CRIS, and the library will check the publication data and correct and supplement them if needed. CRIS is openly available to everyone, which gives Uniarts Helsinki and its researchers more visibility. 

Publishing Open Access enables the free and unrestricted access to scholarly literature, which not only furthers the openness of science but also the visibility and impact of the research, researcher, and the university. When reporting the publication data to CRIS, Uniarts Helsinki researchers can have their publications openly available by self-archiving them to Uniarts Helsinki publication archive Helda. More information is available in the Uniarts guide about self-archiving

Facilities and equipment

The library’s versatile facilities can be used for browsing materials, silent working environments and conducting group work. Further information on reserving the facilities and the library’s equipment is provided separately for each library.  

Self-service library

During self-service hours you can: 

  • borrow, renew and return books with the self-service machines 
  • pick up reservations (remember to borrow!) 
  • make reservations, renew loans and pay overdue fees in Arsca 
  • use the library’s electronic materials, computers and facilities 
  • read theses in Helda 

Only during service hours can you  

  • buy Uniarts publications 
  • meet library staff 
  • pick up a library card  

Service fees

See payments and service fees in the service fees list.

Forms